Why is Prostitution Illegal in the USA?

Prostitution is illegal in nearly the entire USA and I can’t for the life of me understand why. Perhaps someone could enlighten me. If the rules similar to those used in the state of Nevada were applied everywhere I can’t see a downside.

I expect legalizing prostitution would lower the spread of sexually transmitted diseases as well as lowering the number of rapes a bit. I understand that in all the years of std/drug testing in Nevada brothels the std rate is nearly zero. Metal detectors and a few bad-ass security guards hanging around would make a nearly completely safe environment.

Leave a Reply

